maybe I should clarify

29 Jun

This time I have a plan! I’ve been reading healthy living & running blogs for years. I’ve pinned a shit ton bunch of motivational photos & phrases along with lots of workout ideas. I have started this journey a few times before. I’ve done Weight Watchers, had a stint in high school with diet pills (that’s a whole other post) and formed a Biggest Loser-esque competition with the girls I worked with in New York. Nothing stuck for me. I know deep down, I was always reassuring myself that I had time. Just enjoy life. Then I’d think my husband deserved better (why not me? Isn’t this journey supposed to be about me?) or I’d remember I was getting married in just 6 months (6 months is surely enough for a lazy person to lose 100+ pounds, right?), or we’d have the ‘baby talk’ again (I could, I should get healthy for a baby right?) or I’d get pregnant. Another post. I swear, I’ll get there.

Now I’ve finally realized I need to do this for me. My happiness isn’t riding on it- I have a gorgeous daughter, an incredible hardworking husband and a very supportive family. At the same time, it really is. I want to be happy with what I see in the mirror. To buy cute clothes that FIT me. My confidence could use a boost. My husband has agreed, I’m not as confident as when we met (although, he’s not sure why). I want to look in the mirror and smile at myself. I need to do this and be proud of myself. I’ve spent years telling myself tomorrow, I’ll start my diet tomorrow. I’m not in need of a diet. I’m in need of a full on lifestyle change. I want to exercise like it’s second nature, to lead an active life so Little Miss Cupcake follows in those footsteps. Have you seen this girl? How could I not want to chase after her?!

On to the nitty gritty. How am I planning on doing this? I’m starting out easy. When I did Weight Watchers, our leader reminded us all.the.time. that it takes three weeks to form new habits. For the next three weeks, I’m going to work on the following:

  • Staying hydrated. It’s freaking hot here in Virginia. I know I don’t drink nearly as much water as I should. I’m going to focus on exclusively drinking water, at least 8 glasses a day.
  • Making better, simple food choices. I use myfitnesspal (add me! I’m amaburns) In addition to tracking what I’m eating, I’ll be making notes about WHY I’m eating. HUGE step for me.
  • Moving more. Even if all I can manage is a 15 minute walk around the neighborhood, moving is moving. I have my sister and her best friend to accompany me as well as LMC and Fred, my beagle. If I don’t have company, I have Jillian Michaels. I can listen to her podcasts while I work my way towards using her DVDs. I have a teensy, tiny girl crush on her.

I’ll weigh in every Thursday. Off days seem to work for me 😉

20120628-220137.jpg

My first official weigh in

(excuse my strange looking toes) And that’s actually two pounds less than the last time I hopped there. I’ll take it as my jumping off point. Once my three weeks are up (give or take), I’ll be starting Tina’s Best Body Bootcamp. I’m nervousexcitedanxious to join the second round!

Night y’all!

Leave a Reply

